Michael Jahncke

Songwriter/artist

Today I Killed Your Memory

Nice story behind this.  A songwriter friend I met on The Songwriter’s Forum, Roy Harris, threw a challenge out and invited us all to come up with some music to match a set of lyrics he’d written.  To make a song out of it.  Lyric-wise, my response changed a few things while keeping the overall idea of the story.  I had to get my head around what was being killed.  The song could have gone the direction of actual physical violence, but I didn’t want to go that way.   I’m proud to tell you that once Roy heard this, he  said I’d very much captured what the song should be.  When I listen to it now, I get an image of the inside of an old honky-tonk somewhere, and there’s a band up on stage playing this song.  There’s hardly anyone there, just someone at a table nursing a drink and a couple out on the dance floor, moving slowly in each others arms to the music.  She’s wearing a dress.  When I listen to this song, that’s where I go.

Today I Killed Your Memory

I’ve been stumblin’ ’round this house morning, noon, and night
Tryin’ to figure out what I did wrong and how to make it right
Since I saw you holdin’ hands with my old best of friends
They say all’s fair in love and war, they say that all good things must end

Today I killed your memory, every shot went to the heart of a love that used to be
And at the bottom of the bottle I found a heart as cold as stone
Free from the passion of a love that’s dead and gone

I’m like a brand new man today, feeling no more pain
Now I know it wasn’t me who made the blue skies start to rain
You played it cool I have to say, you really pulled me in
Now you can watch me walk away from all we might have been

Today I killed your memory, every shot went to the heart of a love that used to be
And at the bottom of the bottle I found a heart as cold as stone
Free from the passion of a love that’s dead and gone

Copyright 2011 Tex-Ark Publishing.  All rights reserved.

One response to “Today I Killed Your Memory

  1. Gloria (Glo) Smith December 6, 2015 at 15:30

    Hello… I’m a Professional Recording Artist. I’d like to record this song. Please give me details on how to go about this.
    Also, what is your ReverbNation site. Mine is:

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

