Michael Jahncke

Songwriter/artist

Snow Falls

This was written in Berlin in late 2008 or early 2009 (that was a good place to come up with ‘… the river is dark, the valley is gray’).  This was right around when the U.S. started to really get into these tough economic times and the fate of the major auto companies was hanging in the balance.  Being from Detroit,  I felt sensitive to that and folks who work on the line.  My dad worked at Ford once upon a time.  Although this song has kind of a mountain feel to it, with the melody and the way it’s played, for me it’s a little reminiscent of Springsteen’s ‘My Home Town.’  If someone were to listen to these songs years from now, they’d probably put them at right about the end of the Industrial Age.  I love Jason Roller’s fiddle playing on this.  I hope you enjoy it, too.

Snow Falls

Snow falls on the frozen ground, the river is dark, the valley is gray
It’s a cold walk on the road to town, and a cold walk back at the end of the day

I wonder where she is tonight, if she ever found her beautiful place
Far away from this town that died and the dreams we had that we could not save

I think of the life we had when the foundry trains rolled through the night
And the steel we made built a might land, and the hungry wheel was satisfied

I cannot help the way I feel about the ran our fortunes to ruin
Even now I’m sure they’re warm and filled, while such as I am all done in

Too old to buy, too late to sell, there’s nowhere to go and so I remain
Where a used up mine and an old church bell are my heaven and hell, my night and my day

Snow falls on the frozen ground, the river is dark, the valley is gray
It’s a cold walk on the road to town and a cold walk back at the end of the day

Copyright 2012 Wyatt Grayson.  All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

