Michael Jahncke

Songwriter/artist

Semper Fi

I’ve heard the words ‘Semper Fi’ so often, I take for granted that everyone knows what it means and knows what organization has adopted that phrase as their motto.  If you don’t know, it means ‘always faithful’ and it’s the motto of the U.S. Marine Corps (abbreviated from ‘Semper Fidelis’).  Being in government service overseas, I have been around Marines day-in-day-out for the past 25 years.  They have a special place in my heart, especially a few that I count as personal friends.  When I wrote this I was in Baghdad, it must have been late 2005 or early 2006.  I was thinking of them, how they go outside the wire for us, and because I know some of them personally I used this song to try and put it in the perspective of ‘the kid from down the street.’  They are all someone’s friend and neighbor, maybe yours.  But they do what they do for all of us, and they have my eternal gratitude.  May God bless and keep them.

Semper Fi

He’s the kid from down the street, I’d see him every day
Riding on his bike from school or to a football game
He signed up with the Corps and I think about him now
I remember what he said the day his bus pulled out of town

Semper Fi, anywhere and anytime
Semper Fi, lay it all on the line
Semper Fi, yeah we live until we die
Until we die, always faithful, Semper Fi

The night before he left we had a couple beers
Talked about what’s going on and the girl he’s leaving here
Now he’s far away from home in some forsaken place
And half the way around the world, I know what he’d say

Semper Fi, anywhere and anytime
Semper Fi, lay it all on the line
Semper Fi, yeah we live until we die
Until we die, always faithful, Semper Fi

Now when I read the news, the truth and all the lies
Whatever else I might believe, I believe in ‘Semper Fi’
And when I’m safe in bed at night before I start to dream
I’ll remember someone far from home, like the kid from down the street

Semper Fi, anywhere and anytime
Semper Fi, lay it all on the line
Semper Fi, yeah we live until we die
Until we die, always faithful, Semper Fi

Copyright 2012 Wyatt Grayson.  All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

