Wyatt Grayson

Songwriter/artist

Maybe Tomorrow

This song was a long time in the making.  Totally different when I first began working on it 12 years ago in Budapest.  The original idea had a guy very inside himself and the song keyed on depression.  The lyrics were very different, except for the recurring theme, ‘and this depression…’.  In this version, completed in Ottawa in 2011, it becomes more of a story.  The breakthrough for me as a writer – with my wife’s help – was crafting a song that could be credibly sung by a woman.

Maybe Tomorrow

Some days are better, some not at all
Reading your letter my tears start to fall
I look for a sign, some fragment of hope
Between every line of the words that you wrote

And this depression, I recognize it
Like an old enemy who knows where I’m weak
And it’s hard to hide it, but maybe tomorrow you’ll come back to me

I don’t understand it, I don’t even try
You said you were leaving but it wasn’t goodbye
What does that mean and why should I stay?
Reliving the pain of this lonely place

And this depression, I recognize it
Like an old enemy who knows where I sleep
And it’s so uninvited, but maybe tomorrow you’ll come back to me

I walk the streets alone in this sad, old town
Imagining that everybody knows what a fool you found
My world is upside down, everything is inside out
Would you even know me now if you were still around?

Do you remember what I said before?
This love’s going nowhere if you walk out that door
But I’m still here and the door’s open wide
Like it was when you left and a part of me died

And this depression, I recognize it
Like an old enemy who gives me no peace
And it’s so hard to fight it, but maybe tomorrow
Maybe tomorrow, maybe tomorrow
You’ll come back me, maybe tomorrow
Maybe tomorrow you’ll come back to me.

Copyright 2012 Wyatt Grayson.  All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.