Michael Jahncke

Songwriter/artist

Like Me And You

Another song that was a long time in the making.  I started this out in Budapest back in 2000 with a theme that was a man-to-woman confessional.  About all that remains of the original idea is the chord structure and melody.  Credit to my wife. This is for all intents and purposes a co-write with her on the lyrics.

Like Me And You

The first time that I saw you, like an answer to a prayer
Leaning out your window, sunlight in your hair
And if I could turn the days back I’d take them more in stride
And you might still be with me, you might have been my bride

But if I had forever, what good would it do
If some things were never meant to be, like me and you?
Like me and you

Next time that I saw you there was someone in your life
I could see the love in your eyes and it cut me like a knife
But circumstances take us over roads we would not choose
And everywhere they take me I only think of you

But if I had forever, what good would it do
If some things were never meant to be, like me and you?
Like me and you

Last time that I saw you I’d made a brand new life
And I told you I was happy, and we talked about my wife
But you saw the look in my eyes, and what I could not hide
That I can’t stop thinking of you no matter how I try.

But if I had forever, what good would it do
If some things were never meant to be, like me and you?
Like me and you

Copyright 2012 Wyatt Grayson.  All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

