Michael Jahncke

Songwriter/artist

Kaylene I Believed You

There is a Kaylene, or was.  This song dates back to at least 1975.  In 1971-72, thereabouts, I was playing in a rock dance band, The Fadeways, up in Port Austin, Michigan at a roadhouse called the Cartwheel Inn.  The story is semi-fictional, Kaylene and I never really got going, but there’s expectation and loss and rejection here, all close enough for me to be able to breathe into the words.  That and I just loved the name and wanted to use it.

Kaylene I Believed You

It’s midnight and I’m sitting here alone, trying not to lose my mind
Chasing my ideas up the wall, can’t help myself I’m knotted up inside
I wonder how I ever let you go, I couldn’t even say goodbye
I wonder where you’re living, is it where you’ll die?
I wonder why I cannot even cry

I couldn’t please you, was I a fool to even try?
Kaylene I believed you, now all that’s left to do is wonder why

I see the sun rise naked in the sky, I want to run away and hide
I rise to the curtains from the fiery light that duels with the darkness in my mind
A phone is ringing somewhere in a dream, I wonder if you’re calling me
But I don’t want to know and I don’t want to be forever hanging on for you Kaylene.

I couldn’t please you, was I a fool to even try?
Kaylene I believed you, now all that’s left to do is wonder why

Copyright 2012 Wyatt Grayson.  All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

